The newest arrival

My guitar and amp finally arrived today!!!  Completely unscathed.  After strapping it on at the site, I took both back to my hotel room and played for about an hour.  Too much fun.

The guitar is a 2004 Paul Reed Smith (aka PRS) SE Soapbar model with two P-90 pickups.  I had to decide which of my guitars to ship and made the choice based upon which of my guitars I could bear losing if it got damaged or stolen.  Which is not to diss the instrument itself.  It has good tone, a nice balance, and a good feeling neck.  Plus it looks good with a polished cherry red body and rosewood fretboard.

Finally!! My guitar showed up!

Also, we met a local bar owner at dinner one night (at one of his other restaurants) and talk turned to music.  Bob brought up the fact that I play and that my guitar was coming.  I told him I loved the blues.  And voila!  The owner put out the word and gathered together some local players for drums, bass, keys, vocals and another guitar and we are having a gig at his newest retaurant which just started having live music.  Name of band is Chophouse Blues Band!!  I used to host an Internet blues radio show and my on-air name was Chophouse.

The Flyer for our inaugural gig

~ by robotthom on July 27, 2010.

3 Responses to “The newest arrival”

  1. Sounds like you are having a blast, Thom! Chophouse Blues Band, yeah!

  2. Awww, looks like you’ve re-united with a long, lost friend. You’re beaming! Can’t wait to hear about the Chophouse Blues Band’s debut!

  3. Very cool. Enjoy yourself and play them Blues!

Leave a Reply

 
